The memorial stone of the Salford Northern Cemetery was laid by Alderman Sir Richard Mottram on the 7th July 1901. The 45 acre site including the Grange farmhouse and buildings had been purchased from the Agecroft Hall estate for around £27,000.
In September 1901 the council accepted a tender from Messrs John Smith and Sons of Derby to supply and fit a turret clock in the tower of the Church of England Chapel for £60. In July 1902 the clock was formally set in motion by Councillor Mather of the cemetery committee.
Northern Cemetery was situated just beyond the City boundary on the Northern side and was opened on the 2nd July 1903.It was opened by the Mayor Alderman Stephens. The cost of the land, layout and buildings was £65,732, the whole area consisting of 45 acres.
The cemetery was remarkable for the picturesque view obtained through the archway of the entrance gate, from which could be seen the extensive circular grass plot bearing ornamental flower beds and flowering cherry trees. Behind stands the Church of England Chapel with its massive clock which at the time became a notable land mark in the surrounding district. The grounds were extensively planted with several kinds of trees which include laburnham, ash, thorn, poplar and cherry.
The first interment took place in July 1903, the deceased person was Mary Hawtin aged 25 from Hightown and she was buried in a common grave. In April 1903 the Bishop of Manchester consecrated the land allocated for the Church of England interments. At this time it was noted in the Salford Reporter, that "the area which once could lay claim to great natural beauty is now surrounded by a forest of tall chimneys and manufacturing works, but there is still some reminders of the past: Agecroft Hall, a quaint Elizabethan mansion and Kersal Cell , one time home of the Byrom family, were in the vicinity".